According to the Vedic literature, Lord Sri Ganesha is the eldest son of Lord Siva and Goddess Sri Parvathi. He is the head of Pramadhaganas, hence Sri Ganapathi. His brother is Kumara Swamy. Hindus worship Lord Sri Ganesha with several other names like Vinayaka, Vigneswara, Gajanana, and Sri Ganapathi.

Lord Ganesha Gayathri

Om Ekadanthaaya Vidhmahe
Vakrathundaaya Dheemahi
Thanno Dhanthi Prachodhayaath

The installation of Lord Sri Ganapathi took place on October 19th, 1999. The Deity and the entire Mandapam are made of black granite. Yanthra and Navarathnas (9 precious gems) were placed under the deity by Dr. G. K. Kumar Garu, the founder of the Temple. Yanthra was made by Pujya Sri Guru Sarvajanopakari Dr. V. V. Swarna Venkatesa Deekshitar of Chidambaram, and the deity was installed with Vaidika Yantra Prathishta as per agamic rites.

The auspicious time was decided by Guruji Pujya Sri Guru Sarvajanopakari Dr. V. V. Swarna Venkatesa Deekshitar of Chidambaram, and miraculously, the deity was installed two minutes before the auspicious time concluded. 

Lord Sri Ganesha – The Lord and Remover of Obstacles

Lord Sri Ganesha is the 1st Ishta Devatha, the chosen God, of all Hindus, regardless of their sectarian positions. Worship of Lord Sri Ganesha leads the devotee most naturally to the other great Gods.

Until you have established a rapport with Lord Sri Ganesha, you cannot establish a relationship with Sri Krishna, Sri Ayyappa, Sri Amman, Sri Vishnu, Sri Rama, Sri Hanuman, Sri Lakshmi, Sri Seetha Devi,  Sri Radharani, Lord Siva or Sri Murugan outside of your own limited concepts. It is Lord Sri Ganesha who introduces you to the millions of Gods of the Hindu pantheon, none else. That is the way it works as Lord Sri Ganesha is the God of spiritual wisdom.

Amongst all the wonderful Hindu Deities, Lord Sri Ganesha is the closest to the material plane of consciousness, most easily contacted and most able to assist us in our day-to-day life and concerns. In His hands, Lord Sri Ganesha holds a noose and a goad. With the noose, He can hold you close or hold obstacles close. Lord Sri Ganesha can capture and confine both blessings and obstacles. With the goad, Sri Ganesha can strike and repel obstacles. This Lord is called the Remover of Obstacles, but He also places obstacles in our way, when His devotees are proceeding in the wrong direction; His obstacles block their progress and guide them slowly back onto the straight path of dharma. When instinctive willfulness causes the seeker to decide to step out the boundaries of dharma, the Lord of Obstacles is there to block the way. His emblem is the svastika, symbolizing His circuitous course in guiding the seeker through life’s perplexing experiences.

Worship of Him strengthens your memory, builds character and brings knowledge from the within. It also protects you from the lower forces, which reside in the little-known chakras below the Mulaadhara chakra. These darker charkas govern fear, anger, jealousy and the confused thinking centered around self-preservation.

The 7 lower chakras below the Mulaadhara chakra are:

  • 1st Chakra (below the Mulaadhara) - governs the state of mind of fear and lust
  • 2nd Chakra - governs raging anger, which comes from despair or from threats to one’s self-will and can even make people angry with God
  • 3rd Chakra - governs retaliatory jealousy, pride, and arrogance, which are associated with feelings of inadequacy, inferiority, and helplessness. At this level, the only safe sadhana is japa, repetition of simple manthras. People who live in the consciousness of this chakra often deny the existence of God and are contentiously combative with one another.
  • 4th Chakra down - governs prolonged confusion and instinctive willfulness, the desire to receive rather than to give. Those in this region of mind proclaim the existence of materialistic advancement over everything else. Hatred arises here as unwholesome vasanas build one upon another.
  • 5th Chakra - the very home of the instinctive mind’s cruel selfishness. People in the consciousness of theis chakra are capable of actions without conscience. They see to their own well-being at all costs, think only of “I, me and mine.”
  • 6th Chakra - the realm of the absence of conscience, which brings about theft, fraud and other dishonest dealings. People in this state of mind believe the world owes them a living and they can simply take from it what they please from whomever they please.
  • 7th Chakra - the last chakra below the muladhara governs malice, also without conscience, expressed through revenge, torture for the joy of it, murder for the sake of murder, the destruction of other’s property, mind, emotion or physical body. Hatred abides here. Reason seldom reaches those who live in this state of mind.

Video Gallery