Lord Ganapathy Sannidhi

Lord Ganesha Gayatri :

Om Tat Om Ekadantaya Vidhmahe

Vakrathundaya Dheemahi

Tanno Dhanthi Prachothayat

The deity is made of black granite, and the entire mandapam is also granite. Yantra and Navrattna (9 precious gems) were placed underneath the deity by Dr. G. K. Kumar, the founder of the Temple. Yantra was made by Pujya Shri Guru Sarvajanopakari Dr. V. V. Swarna Venkatesa Deekshitar of Chidambaram, and the deity was installed with vaidika yantra prathistha as per agamic rites.

The auspicious time was decided by Guruji Pujya Shri Guru Sarvajanopakari Dr. V. V. Swarna Venkatesa Deekshitar of Chidambaram, and miraculously, the deity was installed two minutes before the auspicious time would be over. To read more about the day of the installation, October 19, 1999.

Lord Ganesha – The Lord of Remover of Obstacles

Lord Ganesha is the first Ishta Devata, the chosen God, of all Hindus, regardless of their sectarian position. Worship of Lord Ganesha leads the devotee most naturally to the other great Gods.

Until you have established a rapport with Lord Ganesha, you cannot establish a relationship with Krishna, Ayyappan, Amman, Vishnu, Rama, Hanuman, Lakshmi, Sita, Radharani, Siva or Murugan outside your own limited concepts. It is Ganesha who introduces you to the millions of Gods of the Hindu pantheon, none else. That is the way it works, as Lord Ganesha is the God of spiritual wisdom.

Among all the wonderful Hindu Deities, Lord Ganesha is the closest to the material plane of consciousness, most easily contacted and most able to assist us in our day-to-day life and concerns. In his hands Ganesha wields a noose and a goad. With the noose He can hold you close, or hold obstacles close. Ganesha can capture and confine both blessings and obstacles. With the goad Ganesha can strike and repel obstacles. This Lord is called Remover of Obstacles, but He also places obstacles in our way, for sometimes his devotees are proceeding in the wrong direction, and His obstacles block their progress and guide them slowly back onto the straight path of dharma. When instinctive willfulness causes the seeker to decide to step out the bondaries of dharma, the Lord of Obstacles is there to block the way. His emblem is the swastika, symbolizing His circuitous course in guiding the seeker through life’s perplexing experiences.

Worship of Him strengthens your memory, builds character and brings knowledge from the within. It also protects you from the lower forces, which reside in the little-known chakras below the muladhara. These darker charkas govern fear, anger, jealousy and the confused thinking centered around self-preservation.

The first chakra below the muladhara governs the state of mind of fear and lust. The chakra below that governs raging anger, which comes from despair or from threats to one’s self-will and can make people even angry with God. The third chakra below the muladhara governs retaliatory jealousy, pride and arrogance, which are associated with feelings of inadequacy, inferiority and helplessness. At this level the only safe sadhana is japa, repetition of simple mantras. People who live in the consciousness of this chakra often deny the existence of God and are contentiously combative with one another. The fourth chakra down governs prolonged confusion and instinctive willfulness, the desire to receive rather than to give. Those in this region of mind proclaim the existence of materialistic advancement over everything else. Hatred arises here as unwholesome vasanas build one upon another. The fifth chakra below the muladhara is the very home of the instinctive mind’s cruel selfishness. People in the consciousness of theis chakra are capable of actions without conscience. They see to their own well-being at all costs, think only of “I, me and mine.” The sixth chakra down is the realm of absence of conscience, which brings about theft, fraud and other dishonest dealings. People in this state of mind believe the world owes them a living and they can simply take from it what they please from whomever they please. The seventh and last chakra below the muladhara governs malice, also without conscience, expressed through revenge, torture for the joy of it, murder for the sake of murder, the destruction of other’s property, mind, emotion or physical body. Hatred abides here. Reason seldom reaches those who live in this state of mind.